Pink Grapefruit Tart page 138

IMG_1657

I found this tart to be rather time-consuming. I was busy during the weekend so I made some parts on Friday morning and others on Monday night.

IMG_1651

I didn’t have any Campari in the house and a whole bottle is very expensive and would not be used, we are not Campari people.  So I asked my brother to bring me some miniatures from his trip to Europe. So I made this exactly like Dorie.  I was a bit surprised to find pink grapefruit but I did at the local supermarket.  This tart was very tasty but a bit too sweet for my taste.  It took much work so I do not think I will be making it again.  This is why I love being in this group I’m baking things I would not have been doing otherwise.  I would be put off by the Campari and the grapefruit.  I had to add some water to the pastry shell dough, it was too dry.  It did cracked during baking but I was able to mend it with extra dough .

17 thoughts on “Pink Grapefruit Tart page 138

  1. Amy

    I looked everywhere here for mini bottles of Campari. But no one carried them here. I just couldn’t buy a full bottle that was going to go to waste so, I ended up leaving it out. (Next time I’ll have to plan a trip to Europe.)

    Like

    Reply
  2. zosia

    Your tart looks beautiful (and I love the mini bottles of Campari). I was looking forward to making this recipe but there have been others I wouldn’t have made were it not for the group….but it’s all great fun.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Kayte

    Oh, I wish I could get my hands on little bottles of liquors, etc. We aren’t big on alcoholic beverages here so I never seem to have what I need, or I have a huge bottle of it resting for years. It was a lot of work, I will also say that, but we did really really like it, so I am sure I will make this one again sometime.

    Like

    Reply
    1. margretjohanna Post author

      You just have to google Campari coctails. This was very a la mode in 1985-1990. Pepople were drinking Campari and orange juice or Campari soda. I do not like this so I was glad for the mini bottles.

      Like

      Reply
  4. steph (whisk/spoon)

    Did you use Dorie’s sweet tart dough recipe? If so, I always used to find it too dry, too, so I started adding a whole egg instead of just the yolk. Gives it the extra moisture to come together nicely and you’re not stuck with a leftover white. Your cremeux looks nice and smooth!

    Like

    Reply
  5. Nana

    I thought the sweet tart dough called for a whole egg, I will have to check my recipe. Your tart looks great, a lot of preparation, but delicious.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Cher

    I was “Campari-less” so had to use Cointreau, but after reading all about the flavors of it, I think I need to find a bottle. Sounds right up my alley 🙂
    Your tart came out beautifully!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Diane Zwang

    I did not know what Campari was so thanks for the picture of the bottle. I agree with you that this was time consuming. My husband loved it as he prefers grapefruit. My son thought it was too tart so interesting that you thought it too sweet. It is fun to try new things. I rarely get to make anything twice as we are always making something new with Dorie.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

