Waffles and cream page 416

I have made waffles many times but never like these.  I was sure there was a typo when the recipe asked for only 1/2 cup of all-purpose flour and 9 tbls butter.  We are a family of 6 so I doubled the recipe so it was 18tbls of butter that is little over 250gr.  What can I say there was no need to butter the waffle iron.  The egg whites look like little islands in the bowl.  I was very skeptical when starting out.  We have been under the weather lately so I made the Cote d’azur cure-all soup for lunch and used four egg yolks so I had 4 egg whites for the waffles.

The first few ones looked a little pale and the waffle iron is not baking very evenly.

I also made the warm caramel sauce on page 510 always a winner.  I had the waffles with cream, vanilla ice cream and I also offered jam.  The whole batch was eaten very quickly and my DH love them and said they were just like in France.  I’m not sure if I will do them for the family again as a gouter since we only had 8 waffles and it costs a lot of butter.  If I do them again it will be as a dessert, one per person.  They are very crispy and buttery.

One thought on “Waffles and cream page 416

  1. Diane Zwang

    I made these this week and they were not a hit for our family. I only used 8 tablespoons of butter, I figured the recipe wouldn’t mind missing one tablespoon. Mine also came out pale.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

