Artichoke tapenade with rosemary oil page 53

I first made the rosemary oil and that was really straight forward.  The tapenade was also easy to make.  You just put all the ingredients in the food processor and puree away.  I did not know that tapenade is not tapenade unless it has capers.

 

Not so colourful rather green ingredients.  The artichoke I bought at our Istanbul market, the only store in town with items from Turkey and the Balkans.

 

I could not find fresh rosemary for the oil so I used a dry one it was messy the small dry rosemary went everywhere.  Next time I will use fresh ones.

We loved it and will make again.

16 thoughts on “Artichoke tapenade with rosemary oil page 53

  1. betsy

    I too was surprised to learn that capers was the true ingredient, not olives. Isn’t it fun when a recipe this easy is also delicious? Something to keep in your back pocket to impress guests.

    Like

    Reply
  2. bakeawaywithme.com

    I never knew that you needed capers, for tapenade to be considered real. I love all the little tidbits we have learned while cooking through these cookbooks.
    So glad you enjoyed this…it was a winner for me too!

    Like

    Reply
  3. Katie from ProfWhoCooks

    I also didn’t know capers were necessary for a true tapenade. And, I’ll admit, I didn’t even read the little blurb that talked about it, so I only found out by reading everyone’s posts. 🙂 Who feels sheepish? Looks great and I can imagine that using dried rosemary was a bit frustrating.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Nicole @ The 2nd 35 Years

    So delicious, and glad you were able to find all of the ingredients. I definitely enjoy learning new things, which is half the reason I do these challenges.

    Like

    Reply
  5. dishnthekitchen

    I’m so glad you were able to find all the ingredients and gave the herbed oil a try even with the dried rosemary. Do you normally have a tough time sourcing ingredients? If so, kudos to you for sticking with it!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Mary Hirsch

    I don’t know if I am more excited about being encouraged to make my own flavored oils or by making this very good and easy tapenade. I always have all this stuff in my pantry. I like your artichoke header also.

    Like

    Reply
  7. kitchen therapy

    The colour definitely was pale but the taste made it for it! I was surprised by how tasty it was.
    I am late to this one thanks to a nasty virus but very glad I decided to make it. The fact it was so easy definitely helped 🙂

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

