Fattoush page 116

What beautifu colours.

This was very tasty and everyone loved it.  This salad is so easy to make.  I did put all the dressing ingredients in a jar and shook it well and then poured it over the salad at the end.  It was a lot of dressing but it was fine by us.  I only bought 200 gr. of mixed greens and not the 300 gr. David suggests.

The toasting of the pita bread was not working very well.  The olive oil was not getting into the pita and the bread  was all covered in oil.  Next time I´m going to fry the bread in butter and oil on the frying pan.

My mom  went to Israel for easter and brought back some sumack, za’atar and other spices we do not see so often are in Iceland.  The dates she brought back are to die for.

This is a a wonderful salad and we are so going to have it again this summer.

When on vacation do you bring a cookbook with you?

To see how the others did visit:

https://cookthebookfridays.wordpress.com/2016/06/03/lyl-fattoush/#comments

18 thoughts on “Fattoush page 116

  1. hawley32

    I too found my pita chips took longer to make, but worth the time. It was a very quick salad. Your addition of radishes (which I left out) really adds color.

    Like

    Reply
  2. betsy

    Your salad is so colorful! Perfect for summer too. I don’t usually have a kitchen to cook in when I go on vacation, but if I were staying where I could cook, I would probably bring some cooking magazines instead of a book.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Mary Hirsch

    You used all the salad dressing? Wow. I do think I went easy on the dressing because I was serving it to company for dinner and I didn’t want to go overboard with flavors and tastes. I thought the sumac would be enough of an experiment for one night. When I make this again I will fry the pita in olive oil and butter. That’s what Ottolenghi does for his Baby Spinach Salad with Dates and Almonds which is my all-time favorite salad. (Note I mentioned dates. I am quite positive mine weren’t as delicious and the fresh ones your mom brought to you.) No, I don’t take cookbooks on vacation although I did take Around my French Table when I was blogging with FFWD and would take My Paris Kitchen now. I find my recipes of choice on the computer.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Teresa

    I made the dressing separately, too, as I made only a portion of the salad, but the full amount of dressing. I love that your mother brought you back Middle Eastern ingredients from her trip – they must be wonderful! Your salad turned out beautifully.

    Like

    Reply
  5. Katie from ProfWhoCooks

    I wish I’d made the dressing separately first, as it was way too much for me as well. That said, I also wanted to follow his directions exactly the first time. Except that I purchased a bag of toasted pita chips. 🙂 As for cookbooks on trips, not usually: I often just rely on the internet. But, I did buy My Paris Kitchen ebook when it was available for $1.99 and that’s been great to have on my phone while at the grocery store!

    Like

    Reply
  6. Chez Nana

    Such a refreshing looking salad. How fortunate to have all those spices from your Mom, it’s always fun to bring back hard to find items when traveling.

    Like

    Reply
  7. Emily

    You got amazing colors going in that salad! I made the dressing and bottled half of it immediately as I was the only one home when I made it! Boxed up a portion of the salad greens too for DH’s dinney,

    Like

    Reply
  8. dulceshome

    Your salad looks delicious!!

    I often copy recipes that I plan to use when I go on vacation. I was lucky to get this as an ebook when it was on sale – and that is very handy – especially for a project like this.

    Like

    Reply
  9. Nicole @ The 2nd 35 Years

    I definitely did not use all of the dressing… sometimes too much of a good thing is too much. I did, however use alot more of the sumac because I love it so much. What a great treat to have thone amazing ingredients brought back from Israel!

    Like

    Reply
  10. Piebird

    You did a great job capturing the striking colors of this salad especially since you didn’t on the radishes. Lovely!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

