Rice Pudding, Strawberries and Spiced Hibiscus Syrup Page 380

img_3120

This was very delicious.  We make a Christmas pudding for lunch on the 24th of December and hide a blanched almond on one of the plates.  The person finding the almond gets a little prize.  Very often it is a board game the whole family can play during the holidays.  We serve it with raspberry coulis and cinnamon sugar.

This pudding is very similar but sweeter.  My DH was so happy with this one since it is just like he got at home in France.  He kept telling me this was the best pudding I have ever made.

img_3116

Here you can see the pudding with the vanilla bean  I have not used Arborio rice for a pudding before but it works perfectly.

I made the Spiced Hibiscus Syrup for the second time and it is so good.

 

You can see the difference in colour when I add the tea bags.  I use this syrup with vanilla ice-cream and also with sparkling water.

I did not need to buy anything for this recipe not for the pudding and not for the syrup.  I had everything I needed in my pantry.  This is so new to me.

I had my mom and dad over and they loved it as well.  My DH just could not be happier so I guess now this will be our Christmas pudding, just adding the almond.  See these beautiful colours:

img_3123

 

To see how the others did visit:

 

https://tuesdayswithdorie.wordpress.com/2016/06/14/bcm-lyl-rose-frasier-and-rice-pudding/

 

 

 

 

 

 

6 thoughts on “Rice Pudding, Strawberries and Spiced Hibiscus Syrup Page 380

  1. Nicole @ The 2nd 35 Years

    Like you I was impressed by the gorgeous color from the tea bags. Yours turned out lovely… I am glad everyone enjoyed it!

    Like

    Reply
  2. Teresa

    That’s a wonderful tradition and this pudding is more than special enough for a holiday treat! I’ve been adding my leftover syrup to sparkling water all week. It’s SO good!

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

