Rhubarb Upside-Down Brown Sugar Cake page 24

I did not find any Rose Syrup in Iceland so I did the Rhubarb cake instead.

We do not have a rhubarb in our garden but my sister’s mother in law has some beautiful rhubarb.  I asked her for some and it was not a problem.  I missed this chance last year so I did not do this cake in May like everyone else, well in mid May there is no rhubarb to be found in Iceland.  The first harvest is in the beginning of June.


Look at these beautiful colours.  I did not have to peel the string the rhubarb was so fresh and small.

Here you can see the rhubarb in the skillet.

 

The cake fresh out of the oven.  Look at this beauty.

I did not have oranges in the fridge so I used some of the orange water we bought for the Tropizienne and I highly recommend it.  I used the same amount of vanilla extra as Dorie just added the orange water and yummy.

This was so good that we bought rhubarb for our own garden.  My brother in law really like this twist on his mom’s rhubarbs, I served his slice with strawberries and vanilla ice cream, just making sure I get some of his mother crops if mine fails.  I will make this again next year.

6 thoughts on “Rhubarb Upside-Down Brown Sugar Cake page 24

  1. Nicole @ The 2nd 35 Years

    Nice job! I think either I need to catch up on this, or I made it with a different fruit. Hmmm…

    Like

    Reply
  2. Teresa

    This one was so good! Rhubarb is a spring favourite for me, but it’s so fleeting. I like to keep some in the freezer to use throughout the year.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

