Galettes complètes page 135

I started making the dough with whole wheat and then realized that it was buckwheat and started again.  I bought the buckwheat at a health store after some search.

I made this as dinner for 4 people so I used 310 gr. of buckwheat and 3 eggs.  I only got 9 galettes, I did use a big pan.

My DH has a soft spot for pans and bought this crepe pan, which is rather big and heave but works very well.  I did not get the galettes as brown as in the book.

We were four for dinner and making one galette at the time was not working so I fried the eggs in one pan and but it on the galettes after the chees had melted.

I really liked this but my kids not so much.  The oldest of the bunch (22yrs) tried them with cream and jam but it did work out well as I tried to tell him.

I made them on the 14. of July or Bastille day !

 

To see how the others did visit:

https://cookthebookfridays.wordpress.com/2016/07/15/lyl-buckwheat-crepe-with-ham-cheese-and-egg/#comments

 

When I go to France I always bring back some spices and soap:  Here are some of the things that made it home with me:

I just love the garlic and I brought 2.5 kg back with me.  I got some dried thyme from my mother in law’s garden and also bay leaves.  I looked everywhere for the rose syrup and my DH found some for me at the whole food corner at the flower shop.  I bought some lavender flowers but I´m not sure if I can use it for Dorie’s recipes but if not I can always use it for the great smell.  I asked about and the lavender flower comes to the market at the end of July and it is small blue flowers.


20 thoughts on “Galettes complètes page 135

  1. Emily

    Love your crepe pan, and all the shopping! I must say I managed this week’s recipe quite well. I did leave the batter in the fridge overnight.

    Like

    Reply
  2. oneexpatslife

    I was actually wishing that I had a larger pan to make my crepes as I suspect that bigger would have been better for this recipe. Your pan looks perfect. Mine didn’t come out as dark as David’s either, I suspect it has to do with the kind of pan he uses.

    And it looks like your suitecase must have been quite full:-) I do the same when I go to France. I tend to bring back banyuls vinegar, valrhona baking chocokate, and whatever else looks tasty. I used to bring back that same salt which you bought, but it has since become easy to buy here in Frankfurt.

    Like

    Reply
  3. Mary Hirsch

    Your pictures of French treasure are fabulous. I especially liked the colorful sardine tines (but, Margrèt, I wrenched my neck trying to read the labels!!!). Wish I had your large crepe pan. Your crepe color is lovely. Mine weren’t as dark as others but I loved their color. I plan to keep working at this recipe with various fillings and making galettes because I like the taste of buckwheat flour.

    Like

    Reply
  4. Teresa

    Your galettes turned out beautifully! I love your crêpe pan and suspect that mine would have easier to work with if they’d been that big. I especially love the photos of all the wonderful things you brought back from France.

    Like

    Reply
  5. betsy

    Envious of your vacation shopping! Your galette looks good too. I wonder whether I need to buy myself a crepe pan. Maybe that’s the secret to success.

    Like

    Reply
  6. Natascha's Palace

    I like your crepe pan too. I have a crepe maker and it seems to make the crepemaking process easier! When I am on holiday in France, I usually buy ingredients that I cannot find here in Spain!

    Like

    Reply
  7. Katie from ProfWhoCooks

    That is a great crepe pan! I wish I had one that large as I think it would’ve made my work a bit easier, in part. Your flour looks like it wasn’t quite as dark as mine, either, and I’m wondering if that contributes to the problems some of us are having. hmmm…

    Like

    Reply
  8. hawley32

    Your galette looks like mine, I was able to fold in three corners, but the fourth was difficult. I love that crepe pan- something I must invest in!! And I love your shopping, thank you so much for sharing!

    Like

    Reply
  9. Nicole @ The 2nd 35 Years

    I used a larger pan too – made it so much easier. Is yours DeBuyer? Maybe if i bought a crepe pan i would be encouraged to make them more frequently! So jealous of all of your lovely goodies from France… those soaps look amazing!

    Like

    Reply
      1. Nicole @ The 2nd 35 Years

        I used a 14″ de buyer pan for this one. Also doubles as a weapon in a pinch!

        Like

Leave a Reply

