Pear Tart with Crunchy Almond Topping page 127

This is how it all starts with a fully baked 9 inch tart crust from page 414 in Dorie´s book.

I have made this many times before and  I alway add a full egg and bake the crust on 374°F instead of 400°F.  This works for me.

I baked the crust the day before I made the tart.

I looked for ripe but firm pears but I only found non ripe and very firm ones so I bought pears in a can.

img_3698

They look good and are from 4 whole pears.

I made the topping with out any problems.

img_3697

I cut the pears into 1/2 inch chunks and I warmed them up on the frying pan with butter and sugar even though they are caned in light syrup.  I did flame the alcohol I chose dark rum.  First time doing that.  It was a total success, the kitchen is still in one piece.  I put all the pears in the crust and boiled down the butter and syrup and then poured over the filling.

img_3699

The tart on it’s way to the oven.

The tart coming out of the oven after 20 min. of baking on 400°F

As you can see I did not have problems with the caned pears they were firm and delicious.

I took the tart to a dinner party where it got great reviews.  So this one is a keeper.

HAPPY BIRTHDAY DORIE!

To see how the others did visit:

https://tuesdayswithdorie.wordpress.com/2016/10/25/bcm-lyl-custardy-apple-squares-and-pear-tart-with-crunchy-almond-topping-2/

8 thoughts on “Pear Tart with Crunchy Almond Topping page 127

  1. Nicole @ The 2nd 35 Years

    Yours looks good. I might have to try your suggestion of baking the shell at a lower temp… mine always turns out too dark and then i had to protect the edge when i put it back with the pears. I think tour idea to use canned pears is probably what this needed… i thought my fresh pears were too bland.

    Like

    Reply

Leave a Reply

